1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

Collated "Can My PC Run WildStar?" Thread

Discussion in 'WildStar General' started by baldo227, Feb 6, 2014.

  1. Convicted

    Convicted Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Likes Received:
    755
    Trophy Points:
    113
  2. Rawck

    Rawck New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2014
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Hey Everyone! :D

    So I'm really hyped about Wildstar and I hope to get into the game soon!
    I have been wondering how well Wildstar would run on my computer?
    I also play League of Legends where i run 60fps normally!

    Here are the specs:
    Intel Core i7-4700MQ (2.4GHz)
    4 GB DDR3 RAM
    NVIDIA GeForce GT740M
    Running Windows 8 (64-bit)

    Will it be able to run on Low/Medium/High Graphics?(approx.) and how many frames can I expect to recieve?


    Thanks a lot!
  3. Zap-Robo

    Zap-Robo Administrator • King Cupcake

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Ianpact and Kataryna like this.
  4. Ianpact

    Ianpact Cupcake-About-Town

    Joined:
    May 29, 2013
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA, USA
    Perhaps but, assuming I wasn't clear enough, I suggest that it be a front page link sort of thing. As in, it will be one of the first things people see when coming to the site. Perhaps stick it between Forums and Streams, even. Maybe add some blinking lights, arrows and chua dancer icons around it. ;)
    Extatica likes this.
  5. Extatica

    Extatica Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Z-Lab
    Well we got a stickied thread for that now, Zap just made it a few minutes before this post :D

    But I agree......it could use some Chua dancers!!!!
    Ianpact likes this.
  6. Zap-Robo

    Zap-Robo Administrator • King Cupcake

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Likes Received:
    1,613
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yep, saw it was getting out of hand - so given them a home :) Thanks folks!
    Ianpact likes this.
  7. Extatica

    Extatica Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Z-Lab
    Just saying :rolleyes:
    Ianpact likes this.
  8. Perigon

    Perigon Cupcake

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Ireland
    Probably, but if I were you I'd get a 270x instead of the 7870. The 270x is a great budget card that packs a lot of performance for the price.
  9. Mellkor

    Mellkor Well-Known Cupcake

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2013
    Likes Received:
    290
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Australia
    Decided to do a crazy "lol" sidegrade. For anyone interested...

    Have/Need

    CPU: I7 920 @ 4.0ghz
    RAM: 12GB 1600 DDR3
    SSD: Intel 500 series SSD 120GB
    HDD 4TB Segate 7200rpm
    GPU: CrossfireX Gigabyte 280X
    Display: 3x BenQ 24" LCD displays for 5760x1080.
    PSU 2x Corsair 650CX (1300w)
    Cooling: Thermaltake Bigwater Pump, 3x120 Rad, 2x 280 Waterblocks, Compression Fittings.
  10. Toat

    Toat New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    My current rig is:
    i5-750 OC@3.33Ghz
    HD 6970
    16gb DDR3 1600

    My goals are to run W* on ultra in 40 man raids with excellent FPS.
    Is the graphics card the weakest piece here? Will the graphics card impact the 40 man raiding or is that mainly CPU?

    I was checking the hierarchy charts at tomshardware and it says it's not really worth the money to upgrade unless you move up 3 tiers. Well this processor not overclocked is still third tier. The graphics card is 7th tier so I could definitely move up there.

  11. Livnthedream

    Livnthedream Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Most mmo's don't fully support multi core cpu's, at best they tend to only use 2. On top of which that tends to be the bottleneck for them. Right now, I would say that if you are overclocking and not hitting at least 4ghz, that should be what you are focused on for mmo play. For general gaming I would agree video card, but mmo's are not a general game.
  12. Toat

    Toat New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So basically you're saying if I upgrade my CPU even this video card will not bottleneck 40 mans?
  13. Livnthedream

    Livnthedream Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1,090
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No one has seen the 40 mans who can talk about it. Honestly though, I doubt its going to be your card that bottlenecks you there. Even being a "old" card, its still solid.
  14. Stimulate

    Stimulate New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Although WS is not out yet I have been following the game for a while now and cannot get enough of livestream and recorded footage of mordesh medic gameplay.

    I retired from WoW about a year ago and quit raiding to concentrate more fully on my masters program. I am extremely interested in this game and know that my rig is few years old and not being pc savvy I wanted to reach out to a community that is passionate and knowledgeable about the game I am becoming obsessed with.

    Even though we do not know what endgame will be like I would like to run at Max settings and be able to record/stream live raids in the future.

    Current system:
    CPU- i5 3570k
    Mobo - Asus P8z77-V LX
    RAM - 8 gig @1600 G Skill
    SSD - 60 gig (holds Win 8.1 64 pro)
    HDD - 500 gig (will be adding a 1 TB external drive soon)
    GPU - Nvidia GTX 560
    Running a 27" HD display

    If you could give any insight into where my system may encounter lag while in large cities and raids in WS so I could plan to begin upgrading those areas of the system in order to run smooth in HD.
  15. Toat

    Toat New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2014
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Your graphics card is a little weak. If you have a couple hundred lying around I'd upgrade that.
    Is your CPU overclocked? If not that's something you could do for cheap. Otherwise looks good.
    Livnthedream likes this.
  16. Jinzouningen

    Jinzouningen Cupcake

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2013
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Run to the alienware arena site and youll be able to find out first hand if youre system can run the game.
  17. Stimulate

    Stimulate New Cupcake

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2014
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    3
    edit: issue resolved.
  18. filanwizard

    filanwizard Cupcake-About-Town

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    61
    Trophy Points:
    28
    I will honestly be surprised they will support 32 bit operating systems at all even once out of beta, I doubt any gamer is still on 32bit since I doubt any gamer is under 4gb of RAM.

    Also technically by release MS will have sunsetted its only purely 32bit OS. WinXP.

    My guess is games supporting 32bit are near an end, Why limit yourself to 4gb of RAM when its hard to even find a computer suitable for gaming with less than 8.
  19. Kataryna

    Kataryna Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Arkansas
    http://www.wildstar-online.com/en/preorder/
    bottom of that page has the system requirements - 32bit or later. recommended - 64bit
  20. Catdurid

    Catdurid Cupcake

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    18
    I guess they don't recommend using an nvidia card.

    They don't have one listed under recommended settings.

Share This Page