1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

Emergent narrative in MMOs and you!

Discussion in 'Gaming Arena' started by Yakzan, Feb 20, 2013.

1. Yakzan

Yakzan "That" Cupcake

Note: TL;DR at bottom of this wall of text.

Hail. Just wanted to start with a brief introduction to what I plan to be a series of threads or posts to really analyze, nitpick and hopefully discussion the various nuanced aspects of MMO design. I wanted to add as a disclaimer that I am by no means a professional game designer or have any formal education. These are entirely my personal observations, ideas and concerns from my 12 years of experience spanning over 30 MMOs that I can recount from the top of my head. I will most assuredly come with ideas and arguments that you will disagree with or are just plain wrong, because I can be an idiot. Please disagree and tell me why. Let us have a friendly chat to narrow down what we disagree with and why. There is no right or wrong opinion and I would love to hear from you, as long as it‘s constructive. With that aside, I will begin.