1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

Lets talk about Addons :: API and Scope

Discussion in 'WildStar General' started by Lemon King, Apr 18, 2013.

1. Lemon King

Lemon King New Cupcake

I've been writing Addons for games for a few years now.
    But I'm interested in driving some discussion about the API and Scope used by addons themselves.

To start off I'm going to use WoW's 1.x API as an example of too much power where Authors could write Addons controlling Player Movement, Spell Casts, and Macros.
    Now I'm going to expect Carbine has proper control over the API to prevent events like this from happening. :p

Again I'm looking at WoW, its LUA Environment is what I'd like to call a Blob with all Global Variables mixed into a large pool with no component separation.
    That can be a pain to work with if you're conflicting with another Addon or Official UI Component, sure you can modify the behavior of another Addon. But it also brings in alot of work and added security on top of it (see WoW's Security and Tainting Scripts).
    With a proper Scope an addon would have its own Global Environment without interfering with other addons or even the official UI.
    Then you may want a function to remove any other component or transfer data between environments.

Firefall (my most recent set of addon development) has all UI Components in their own Scope, libraries and additional lua files are loaded with require calls.
    Its a wonderful environment to work with without any Official Addon Support right now.

So if there are any other Addon Authors here, how do you feel about WoW's LUA Environment being in one blob and how do you feel Carbine should handle Wildstar's LUA Environment?
    Zilvoran, Lethality, Crybone and 3 others like this.
  2. TehTic

TehTic Cupcake