1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

"R" Ability

Discussion in 'WildStar Classes & Paths' started by coolster50, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. coolster50

    coolster50 Cupcake

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    You know that ability that every class gets and you activate it by pressing R? Yeah, that one. I saw in one of Bog Otter's gameplay videos that you could change it. But I couldn't figure out how to do that during the weekend beta. Can someone tell me how? Please?
  2. Kataryna

    Kataryna Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Arkansas
    only certain classes can change what their Innate (or R) ability does. I know Stalker and Warrior and maybe Engineer can. I know that Spellslinger cannot. There's a teeny tiny little Arrow above the R ability box that you can click and change the ability - kinda like when you get your house you can click the teeny tiny little arrow above your Transmat Teleport and change it to your Housing Teleport.
    Extatica likes this.
  3. Domi Dayglow

    Domi Dayglow Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2013
    Likes Received:
    744
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Land of Hugs!
    If I remember right, can't most of the tank class change it as a 'Stance'. Basically changing from DPS damage boost to tank resistance boost?
    Extatica and Kataryna like this.
  4. Extatica

    Extatica Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Likes Received:
    2,884
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Z-Lab
    Indeed:
    All tanks can switch the ''R'' ability from a more DPS focused one, into a more tank focused one.
    The sole ''''special'' guy in this, is the stalker.

    The stalker's ''R'' is a bit different since he has 3 of them, 1 is the more general stealth. And then you have his specialisations (DPS/Tank).

    Currently no healing classes have a different ''R'' mostly because it would still affect BOTH their healing and DPS role, unlike that of the tanks, hence why they have 2 instead of one.
  5. Satarn

    Satarn Cupcake-About-Town

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    [​IMG]
    The boost values as well as cooldowns have changed a bit lately, but this is how they all work in general.
    Golconda, Domi Dayglow and Kataryna like this.
  6. coolster50

    coolster50 Cupcake

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Still don't see the arrow above the innate ability. Guess they removed the feature?
  7. Kataryna

    Kataryna Super Cupcake

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Likes Received:
    1,876
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Arkansas
    teeeeny tiny arrow - don't think they took it out or you'd have seen something about it in the patch notes - and people would have gotten up-in-arms about it. what class are you?
  8. Satarn

    Satarn Cupcake-About-Town

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    What class are you and what level. The switchable stances work only for warrior, engineer and stalker(as you can see on the chart) and after one of the latest patches they're no longer available from the beginning.

    At the moment, you start with just a dps stance(Onslaught/Eradicate/Lethal), which means the arrow will only show after level 10, when you get your 2nd stance(Juggernaut/Provoke/Agile). Stalkers also get 3rd stance(Evasive) at 15... which is incredibly stupid, because it's our tank stance that we should be getting at 10 instead of Agile and I really hope it's just an error in the current build.

    It should look somewhat like this:
    Clipboard01.png
    Kataryna likes this.
  9. coolster50

    coolster50 Cupcake

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Oh! It unlocks at level 10! All my DPS/Tank guys are level 8
  10. Satarn

    Satarn Cupcake-About-Town

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2013
    Likes Received:
    72
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Problem solved then. I forgot to mention it in the first post because before the nda lift, all stances were available at level 1.

    Kinda dumb change imo, especially with stalkers getting tank stance at 15 instead of 10. I guess they changed it because of all these silly people running in Agile 'till level 20 and crying they can't explode mobs with one Impale... Now you get the notification about the stances together with all the other level up bonuses, but could've as well put them on level 2 or at least 6 so you can swap for the BG if you want.

Share This Page