1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

The fathoms of a Guild Leader...

Discussion in 'Guilds, Circles and Warparties General' started by Shu, Apr 16, 2013.

1. Shu

Shu Cupcake

Hey all,

I have been running a guild/multigaming community for 2 years, we've seen our ups and downs, good times and bad times, and whatever else. That's fine and all, and I've met some really great people through my time running a community, and we're still going.. slowly.

My question is pretty simple, what the heck am I doing wrong? I've been running this community for 2 years, we have between 15-20 solid, every day logins from members, alongside a couple of other people that hang out with us that we call "VIP" members. (IE: Community members that don't want to commit to a clan/guild.)

One of the largest problems I have is going in blind to a game, creating a guild, and trying to bring new people in. A lot of my guys currently are hooked on League of Legends, they've been hook on League of Legends for 3 years, the game is good - but I'm ready for something else, and I'm a very avid MMO player. As a guild leader, it's my duty to represent my community in every game, even if that means only having ME in the guild, and nobody to accompany me.

When trying to recruit in MMOs, people will join the community, we'll have some great conversation, I'll play until around 3-4am, and wake up the next day around 9-10am, only to be found that the one guy I finally managed to reel in ended up leaving, without leaving any sort of message, or note to tell me why he left. I assume it's because the playerbase of my guild is small.