1. Hey Guest! If you're more than just a WildStar fan and want to keep up on the latest MMO news, reviews and opinion pieces then I'd like to suggest you visit our sister site MMO Central

What is Hardcore Gaming?

Discussion in 'Gaming Arena' started by Oroshi, Apr 6, 2013.

1. Oroshi

Oroshi Cupcake

What is Hardcore Gaming?

Hardcore?

What does it mean to you?

I’ve started to think about this, in one of those moments before sleep. What does it mean to be hardcore in todays games? People will tell you about vanilla WoW, or the original days in EQ. Hell I remember playing PACman for now what seems like hours before dieing on the old wooden Atari console, was that hardcore, back in the day with limited lives.

I started playing EVE Online back in the days before warp to 0, that is right you had to either pay for, or make you own bookmarks that would hopefully drop you on to the gate. If you got it wrong or were just plain unlucky on that warp you could bounce off at high speed leaving you a long heart thumping crawl back to the gate. I can tell you carrying two weeks of refined minerals back to empire from deep 0.0 in a mammoth, was hardcore for me, cause then if I lost that ship, it was not just my two weeks work, but that of my friends too.

I’m asking this question now, of us as Gamers, and of Developers, not to say how amazing the old days were, and noobs of today don't know what it is all about. Its to look at what does it mean today, for its easy to look back at the past, and apply our rose tinted glasses and forget all the grinding, all the time we put in for those few fleeting moments. I’ll never get that feeling back from my early EVE days, and others will never get the feeling they had when they completed their first raid.

Why?